Healthy Avocado Brownies

Avocado-Brownies

A healthy and delicious recipe for avocado brownies! Replace oil or butter with heart-healthy avocados for a delicious and nutritious dessert.Avocado-Brownies-3

When I began my partnership with Avocados from Mexico I was literally over the moon (okay not literally but that’s basically how it felt). Not only do I LOVE avocados, but for as long as I’ve had this blog, my dream partnership was always to work with an avocado company. It’s a serious perk that this avocado company happen to be from Mexico allowing me to shamelessly drop hints that guacamole will solve all the worlds problems, and non-challantly suggest that all avocado dishes need to be paired with an alcoholic bevvy.

I don’t know about you but I would never show up at a fiesta without my avocados and a bottle of wine, amiright?!

People have asked me if I’m worried about becoming “The Avocado Girl”? I can’t help but laugh in their faces. Nothing would make me happier than to be dubbed “The Avocado Girl”!

Now at this point I’ve arrived back in Toronto and am laying on the couch finishing this post while eating what’s left of these avocados brownies (thanks C….) and dreaming about what future recipes and ideas I have to bring you. All I have to say is that I hope you like avocados because this avocado girl has some serious avoliciousness coming your way.

Healthy Avocado Brownies

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Avocado-Brownies-2

Avocado-Brownies-4

Ingredients

  • 1 large avocado
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a blender or food processor combine avocado, applesauce, maple syrup and vanilla.*
  3. Add these ingredients to a large bowl and whisk in eggs.
  4. Add in coconut flour, cocoa powder, sea salt and vanilla and stir until well-combined.
  5. Grease an 8 x 8 inch baking dish with coconut oil and add batter.
  6. Place in oven to bake for 25 minutes (slightly less for fudgier brownies or slightly longer for more cake-like brownies).
  7. Allow to cool for 20 minutes before cutting into 16 brownies.
  8. Keep them on the counter in an airtight container at room-temperature for up to 2 days or for a longer shelf-life store in the fridge or freezer.

Notes

*You can also mash these together by hand but make sure that you mash it up very well and there are no clumps.

Avocado-Brownies-5

Courtesy:thehealthymaven

If you found this post interesting, I would be happy if you pin it or share it on Facebook or on Twitter or Google + circles! All it takes is a simple click on the “pin it”, “like”, “share”, “tweet”, or “Google+” buttons below the post. It will keep me fomented! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

