Copycat Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Sauce

pumpkinspicesyrup2-1-of-1

Well, here it is, the first recipe to excite us all for Fall coming. This one is from another reader request. She specifically asked for a healthier, dairy-free pumpkin spice sauce to use in lattes and smoothies. I might even suggest to drizzle this all over my Pumpkin Spice Latte Pancakes! By the way, I love receiving your requests and emails, so keep them coming. I just received a Christmas dessert request this week and am getting prepared to share lots of goodies with you all.

pumpkinspicesyrup7-1-of-1

Would you judge me if I said I wanted to just drink this Pumpkin Spice Sauce straight? I did, but I refrained.

pumpkinspicesyrup-1-of-1

I’ve already started to see a few pumpkin recipes lurking around and before everybody starts posting a bazillion pumpkin spice lattes all over the web, I thought this would be the perfect time to post a Copycat Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Sauce recipe so you can make all of your lattes at home. They will be healthier, fresher and so darn delicious.

pumpkinspicesyrup3-1-of-1

After you’ve sweetened the latte with the syrup, you then will want to add some whipped cream. I used the So Delicious CocoWhip, it is sooo good. I used the “lite” so it was low fat, it’s not low in sugar, but you only need a small amount. Then you will want to drizzle some more syrup on top and you will think you just left Starbucks.

pumpkinspicesyrup6-1-of-1

Drizzle lots of it. Yes.

pumpkinspicesyrup4-1-of-1

For my version I, of course, made my sauce out of real ingredients and preservative-free. The Starbucks pumpkin spice sauce contains the following:

Sugar, condensed skim milk, pumpkin puree, contains less than 2% of the following: fruit and vegetable juice (color), natural flavors, annatto (for color), preservative: potassium sorbate, salt.

It’s not completely terrible, but I tend to always avoid products that contain “natural flavors” simply because you don’t know what the heck that is! They never reveal it and of course, it contains dairy and an excessive amount of sugar.

pumpkinspicesyrup5-1-of-1

Well, let me tell you, this stuff is so darn delicious and rich in flavor, it will be hard not to just drink it straight.

I can’t wait to hear what you think of this Copycat Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Sauce! Leave me feedback below and let me know how you used it and you can also tag me on Instagram @thevegan8 and don’t forget my hashtag #thevegan8 or I will likely miss your post, since my feed moves quick!

Copycat Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Sauce
Cook time
10 mins
Total time
10 mins
Author: Brandi Doming
Serves: 2 cups
Ingredients
  • 1 cup canned “lite” coconut milk, shake the can well prior to measuring, I useThai brand (or you can use cashew milk or soy milk, but just make sure you use a creamy milk for best results)
  • ¼ cup water
  • ½ cup pumpkin puree (I used canned, make sure the only ingredient is pumpkin)
  • ½ cup coconut sugar
  • ½ cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice (I buy this premade spice at my grocery store, see below to make it)
  • ½ teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • Note: This makes a lot (2 cups), so you can store it in the fridge for about a week or keep the leftovers in the freezer for probably at least a month or so if you don’t want to use it all up right away. If you cannot find the pumpkin pie spice, then you can make your own by combining the following and then just use 1 tablespoon of the following blend for the above recipe: 1 tablespoon cinnamon, ½ teaspoon ground ginger, ¼ teaspoon allspice, ⅛ teaspoon nutmeg, ⅛ teaspoon ground cloves. This is the blend I came up with that I love, feel free to adjust if you like.
  • To make a pumpkin spice latte:
  • Add 1 cup strong coffee to a mug, 2 tablespoons coconut cream, cashew or soy cream (add more if you like) and 3-4 tablespoons of the pumpkin spice syrup and stir everything well. If you want it sweeter, add more of the syrup. Add some coco whipped cream (I used So Delicious CocoWhip “Lite” on top and drizzle more pumpkin spice syrup on top. YUM.
Instructions
  1. Add all of the ingredients (except the vanilla) to a small pot and whisk until well mixed and smooth. Turn the heat to high and as soon as the edges start to bubble, immediately cover with a lid and turn to the lowest heat. Simmer for 10 minutes untouched. Set your timer to make sure not to over cook it. Whisk again and then let it cool for 10 minutes.
  2. Whisk in the vanilla and strain through a fine mesh strainer. You can use it immediately if you like, but it will thicken a lot more as it cools. Keep it stored in the fridge. This makes a lot (2 cups), so you can store it in the fridge for about a week or keep the leftovers in the freezer for probably at least a month or so if you don’t want to use it all up right away. To use from the freezer, just scoop out the portion you want to use, it’s easy to scoop out and gently reheat it on the stove or microwave.
Nutrition Information
Serving size: 4 tbsp Calories: 124.5 Fat: 1.6 g Carbohydrates: 26.8 g Sugar: 25 g Sodium: 123.2 mg Fiber: .5 gProtein: .125 g
Courtesy:thevegan8
If you found this post interesting, I would be happy if you pin it or share it on Facebook or on Twitter or Google + circles! All it takes is a simple click on the “pin it”, “like”, “share”, “tweet”, or “Google+” buttons below the post. It will keep me fomented! Thanks!
Leave a Reply

